ITIL 4 Certification scheme

The first release of ITIL 4 Foundation level has now launched (February 2019), with the following higher levels due for release in H2 2019. ITIL Master: 2020.

ITIL 4 expands on previous versions by providing a practical and flexible basis to support organizations on their journey to the new world of digital transformation. It provides an end-to-end IT/digital operating model for the delivery and operation of tech-enabled products and services and enables IT teams to continue to play a crucial role in wider business strategy.

ITIL 4 Certification

ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) targets IT practitioners working within technology and digital teams across businesses. The Managing Professional (MP) stream provides practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful IT projects, teams and workflows.

ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) recognises the value of ITIL, not just for IT operations, but for all digitally enabled services. Becoming an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) demonstrates that the professional has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.

To obtain the designation ITIL Managing Professional or ITIL Strategic Leader, the professional must complete all modules in each stream, with ITIL Strategist being a universal module for both streams.

How to transition

They are many ways to transition to ITIL 4 while still gaining the skills and knowledge needed to understand the core concepts of the updated guidance.

ITIL v3 Foundation certified

If you are ITIL v3 Foundation certified, the next step is to take ITIL 4 Foundation in order to be able to transition to the new scheme.

There is a large amount of new material in ITIL 4 Foundation therefore a new single exam is required to assess the knowledge and understanding of the new guidance.

ITIL Intermediate / Practitioner level

If you are already on your ITIL journey and have started collecting Intermediate or Practitioner credits then it is in your interest to continue collecting v3 credits to prepare you for an easy transition to ITIL 4 and gain the ITIL Managing Professional designation.

You will need to reach 17 credits to be eligible to take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module. You will no longer need to take Managing Across the Lifecycle.

ITIL v3 Expert

If you’ve made it to ITIL v3 Expert, then you can take the ITIL Managing Professional Transition module as soon as it is released to achieve the ITIL Managing Professional designation.

After achieving the ITIL Managing Professional designation, if you’re interested in pursuing the ITIL Strategic Leader stream, you would only need to complete the ITIL Leader Digital & Strategy module.

Completion of both streams means you are eligible to move towards ITIL Master.

source: website Axelos